Presentation by Pauline Meij at the European Parliament

Pauline Meij, head of the Center for Cell and Gene therapy at the Leiden University Medical Center and a reNEW facility head, gave a presentation to the European Parliament on the development of cell and gene therapies and the difficult road to patients. Although many new therapies are being developed, only a small portion actually reaches the patient. “Since cell and gene therapies are regulated at an European level, it is of great importance that it is clear for the parliament that action is needed to give more patients access to these therapies” says Pauline.

Pauline and her colleagues identified bottle necks for academia and wrote recommendations for different stakeholders. Examples of bottle necks are a lack of financial support, lack of regulatory expertise and lack of knowledge regarding product development practices. Improving the knowledge in academia on product development and regulatory requirements is one of the recommendations they defined. But also improving the interactions between stakeholders in an important aspect that need to be addressed. In addition the role of the academia in bringing these products to the patient should be defined, especially for products that aren’t picked up by industry. The full presentation can be found via this link

This kind of information is not only essential for the European Parliament, but also for our center. Acting on this will help us to achieve our mission to deliver innovative stem cell driven therapies and transform the lives of people with incurable disease.

Esteemed colleagues from reNEW elected members of EMBO

The Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Stem Cell Medicine is proud to announce that CEO and Executive Director of reNEW, Professor Mellissa H. Little and Principal Investigator at reNEW’s Copenhagen node, Professor Joshua Brickman, have this year been elected members of the prestigious European Molecular Biology Organization – EMBO.

4M euros for research into nuclear metabolism

Associate Professor Jan Żylicz from reNEW Copenhagen node, as part of an international consortium, has been awarded an MSCA Doctoral Networks Grant for project; NUCLEAR – metabolic regulation of genome function and cell identity.

The Serup Group in Copenhagen break new ground on the development of a stem cell therapy to treat diabetes

Assistant Professor Philip Seymour, former Assistant Professor Nina Funa and PhD student Heidi Mjøseng, with colleagues from the Serup Group at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Stem Cell Medicine, reNEW, University of Copenhagen, have had a paper published in Stem Cell Reports investigating further development of a cellular therapy to replace the lost insulin-producing beta cells in type one diabetics.