Meet the scientists of reNEW

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is a skills-based independent international committee comprising scientists and clinicians with expertise in all aspects of stem cell medicine, including commercial development, clinical translation, ethics, and policy. The SAC advises the CEO on progress toward achieving our goals, enabling reNEW to be at the forefront of stem cell medicine globally.

Professor Janet Rossant

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee. President and Scientific Director at the Gairdner Foundation, Senior Scientist Emeritus at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, and University Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto, Canada.

Professor Ian Alexander

Head of the Gene Therapy Research Unit, Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network and Children’s Medical Research Institute and Professor in Paediatrics and Molecular Medicine, The University of Sydney, Australia.

Dr. Melissa Carpenter

Chief Scientific Officer of Regenerative Medicine at ElevateBio, Cambridge, Massachusetts, US.

Professor Pete Coffey

Professor of Visual Psychophysics at the UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, London, UK.

Professor Insoo Hyun

Director of the Center for Life Sciences and Public Learning at the Museum of Science, Boston and Bioethics Affiliate at Harvard Medical School, US.

Professor Toshiro Sato

Professor at the Department of Organoid Medicine at the Sakagushi Laboratory of Keio University School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan.

Professor Jim Wells

Director for Research at the Division of Endocrinology at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Chief Scientific Officer at the Center for Stem Cell and Organoid Medicine (CuSTOM), and Professor at the Division of Developmental Biology at the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati, US.

Professor Sara Wickström

Director at the Department Cell and Tissue Dynamics Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine, Münster, Germany.

Dr. Piet Wigerinck

Scientific co-founder of the Dutch biotech company Xinvento, and independent board member at Ipsen SA, France, miDiagnostics NV, Belgium, and Atriva Therapeutics GmbH, Germany.

Professor Charles Murray

Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, Bioengineering and Medicine/ Cardiology, Director of the ISCRM and Head of Cardiometabolic Therapy at Sana Biotechnology, Seattle, US.

Professor Marius Wernig

Professor in the Departments of Pathology and Chemical and Systems Biology, and Co-Director of the Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Stanford University, US.
Professor and CEO of reNEW, Dr. Melissa Little

Melissa Little
Professor and CEO

reNEW – a unique global research centre in stem cell medicine

reNEW is an international consortium of three leading research institutions in Denmark, Australia and the Netherlands, led by renowned Professor and CEO Melissa Little. We strive to advance a new generation of effective and safe stem cell-based therapies, built on a global collaborative network of excellence in targeted biomedical research.